Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read


Tech Help Discuss all your E30 related technical topics. Need help with something? Ask here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27-10-2011, 02:45 AM
seanmul's Avatar
seanmul seanmul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N69, Co.Limerick
Posts: 3,928
Talking Where to connect your radio

I'm giving away a trade secret here

You first need to drop your glove box remove the few covers over it and find this connector....



H = Permanent 12v (aux amp) ---------------------------fed from FUSE #27 "Hot all times"
V = Permanent 12v (radio memory)(red/grn)-----------------------fed from FUSE #21 "Hot all times"
W = Illumination of radio(red/gry)---------------------------------fed from light switch
X = Ignition 12V (pur/gry)(switched live) -------------------------fed from FUSE #12 "Hot at Run"
Y = Ground (brn)
Z = Permanent 12v for your electric Ariel-----------------fed from Fuse #28 "Hot all times"

These are the connections for everything else....
__________________
I'm currently buying some old parts
Click here.
Upgrades offered:
One touch Windows
OBC Light Bars
Remote central locking for E30s

Last edited by seanmul; 06-12-2012 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 27-10-2011, 10:23 AM
Sceptre Sceptre is offline
Premium Member (Site Supporter)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Longford/Roscommon
Posts: 843
Default

For some reason a replacement radio in my car was wired into the Hazard warning switch I discovered. This supplies though the permanent live and the switched live so is covered by fuse no 4 (indicators) and fuse 24 (hazard warning flashers- permanent live). Obviously while not recommended this has worked very well and even operating the hazard warning light, this does not interfere with radio reception at all surprisingly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-10-2011, 09:24 PM
seanmul's Avatar
seanmul seanmul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N69, Co.Limerick
Posts: 3,928
Default

so if you get a fault in your radio at causes a short and the fuse to blow you will loose
indicators.

Not really ideal.
__________________
I'm currently buying some old parts
Click here.
Upgrades offered:
One touch Windows
OBC Light Bars
Remote central locking for E30s
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-10-2011, 10:43 PM
Sceptre Sceptre is offline
Premium Member (Site Supporter)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Longford/Roscommon
Posts: 843
Default

Agree Sean and in any event I would prefer to have the radio connected up as it should be as per the diagram now that I know where the plug is. Did wonder though over the years why pulling fuse no. 12 didn't affect the radio.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2012, 12:05 PM
seanmul's Avatar
seanmul seanmul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N69, Co.Limerick
Posts: 3,928
Default

Could this be put on a sticky please?
Lots of lads fixing their radios and aerials on here lately.
Thanks
__________________
I'm currently buying some old parts
Click here.
Upgrades offered:
One touch Windows
OBC Light Bars
Remote central locking for E30s
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2015, 10:14 PM
316i4's Avatar
316i4 316i4 is offline
Premium Member (Site Supporter)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: killarney
Posts: 1,031
Default

If ever there was a thread that was useful it is this!! My radio and electric aerial was a mess cheers sean
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2015, 10:16 PM
seanmul's Avatar
seanmul seanmul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N69, Co.Limerick
Posts: 3,928
Default

No bother. Did you buy a radio in Lidl today!! :-)

sent from Lenovo Android
__________________
I'm currently buying some old parts
Click here.
Upgrades offered:
One touch Windows
OBC Light Bars
Remote central locking for E30s
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2015, 10:27 PM
316i4's Avatar
316i4 316i4 is offline
Premium Member (Site Supporter)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: killarney
Posts: 1,031
Default

No someone wired up a kinda boombox yoke and cut all original connections instead of using an adapter! The original radio was under the front seat so I put that working again. I would not be too up on wiring but like I said this a very useful thread
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:02 PM.
Privacy Policy


Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. E30owners.com is in no way affiliated with BMW AG or any of the BMW Group of Companies. Contact Us - e30owners.com - Archive - Top